Monday, July 13, 2015

IPW/HoF Waterloo, IA 7/10/15

Promotion: Impact Pro Wrestling
Time/Date: 7pm Friday July 10, 2015
City, State: Waterloo, Iowa
Venue: Five Sullivan Brothers Event Center
 This was the annual IPW George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame event. The 2015 class included (painted below top left to right, bottom left to right) Greg Wojciechowski and Jim Landos, Beth Phoenix (Frank Gotch award), B. Brian Blair (Lou Thesz award), Matt Lindland (George Tragos award) and Wade Keller (Jim Melby award).
 At 4 pm in the Dan Gable International Wrestling Museum Kurt Angle was presented with two rings in honor of his amateur wrestling championships. Angle was inducted into the Tragos/Thesz hall of fame a few years ago but was unable to show up in Waterloo. While at the museum Angle added his signature to the "Mat of Honor".
The first match of the night was the annual Lou Thesz Cup Memorial Battle Royal.
 Sparrow and James Jefferies were the last two men in the battle royal. With a little help from his partner, Sparrow was able to toss Jefferies over the top rope to get the victory.
Ryan Slade pinned Bobby Fonta.
 Latin Thunder & U Gene defeated Nate Redwing & Jake Dirden.
 Colt "Boom Boom" Cabana pinned Bob Holly.
IPW Vault champion Marshall Scott pinned Nicky Free to retain the title.
 B Brian Blair, Ugly & James Jefferies defeated Matty Starr, Sparrow & Aaron Von Baron in a 6 man tag match. Blair pinned Starr for the 3 count.
 Wes Brisco defeated AJ Smooth by tap out in a legends lumberjack Match.
 At the end of the match Wes Brisco celebrated in the ring with JJ Dillon, Jerry Brisco and Baron Von Raschke.
I've said it before and I'll say it again. If you are a pro wrestling fan in the Midwest you should make your way to Waterloo to check out the museum. The best time to do that is during the Hall of Fame weekend. Check out the museum's web site for info on next years event.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

PWB St. Paul, MN 6/27/2015

Promotion: Pro Wrestling Battleground
Time/Date: 6pm Saturday June 27, 2015
City, State: St. Paul, MN
Venue: Wilbeski's Blues Saloon.
 JJ Garrett defeated PWB new comer Danny Adams.
 PWB Breakout champion Luther Wilson III pinned Officer Rob Justice.
 The Prophet defeated PWB new comers Austin Blackburn and Everett Connors in a 3 way match.
Paco Gonzalez defeated PWB new comer Harvey Bower.
 Rob James pinned Arik Cannon after hitting him with a loaded fanny pack.

Before the match James told the crowd that it was his birthday. It really was a special day for James. At noon he and some friends ran the Wipeout Run. After that he wrestled Cannon at the AWF event in Coon Rapids, MN. Then at PWB he wrestled Cannon for the 100th time! Ok, I'm not sure if these two have wrestled each other 100 times but I'm sure if you look through the 10 years of this blog you many matches between these two.
PWB champion Ryan Cruz pinned Mallaki Matthews to retain the title.