Friday, October 27, 2017

PWB St. Paul, MN 9/2/17

Promotion: Pro Wrestling Battleground
Time/Date: 6 p.m. Saturday October 2, 2017
City, State: St. Paul, MN
Venue: Wilebski's Blues Saloon

The Angry Dragon pinned "Downtown" Petey Brown.

Sterling Bond defeated Jacob Savage.

Giant Griffin puot Jseph "Stonehenge" Wayne to sleep to win the match.

The Kid & Creed Connection ( Cal Kreed & Tomahawk Kid) defeated Clay Cooper & Nathan Edwards in a tag team match.

PWB Breakout champion Air Wolf defeated Gerard Castle to retain the title.

Super Thunder Frog pinned Lore.

Scott Story defeated Rob James.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

PWB St. Paul, MN 8/5/17

Promotion: Pro Wrestling Battleground
Time/Date: 6 p.m. Saturday August 5, 2017
City, State: St. Paul, MN
Venue: Wilebski's Blues Saloon

"Downtown" Petey Brown defeated TNT Tommy Mason.

Joseph "Stonehenge" Wayne pinned Giant Griffin.

Orin Veidt defeated Sterling Bond and the Angry Dragon in a triple threat match. Veidt injured his leg during this match which put him out of action for a few months.

Air Wolf defeated PWB Breakout champion Lore.

Referee Jason Stern raised the hand of the new PWB Breakout champion, Air Wolf.

PWB tag team champions Famous Trash (Jordy Lee & Joey Avalon) defeated The Kid & Creed Connection (Tomahawk Kid & Kal Creed) to retain the titles.

Scott Story defeated Darin Corbin. (I'm posting this almost 3 months after this match took place put I wanted to point out something that happened recently. Both these two appeared on WWE RAW in cameo rolls. Corbin was an EMT helping out Jason Jordan while Story was an "intern". I also wanted to use this spot to promote a podcast that is co-hosted by Scott Story. Are We Rolling is a mostly pro wrestling podcast with Scott Story & Kyle Olson. A few weeks ago I was a guest on their show. Click on the link for the show to check it out...and all their other shows.)

PWB champion Venom defeated Super Thunder Frog.

Friday, October 20, 2017

IPW Waterloo, IA 7/20/17

Promotion: Impact Pro Wrestling
Time/Date: 12 p.m. Friday July 20, 2017
City, State: Waterloo, Iowa
Venue: Five Sullivan Brothers Event Center

Dan Gable International Wrestling Museum Hall of Fame Event.

This year there was an afternoon show and an evening show. Every year at this HOF event there are evaluation matches that are watched by Gerald Brisco, JJ Dillon and Jim Ross. The wrestlers then get feed back after all the matches. For the first time these evaluation matches were open to the public as an afternoon show. The matches were scheduled to start at noon. I got to the venue a little after noon and had missed the first few matches as they had to start early.

Stephen Wolf (@StephenWolf309) defeated Bucky Collins.

Logan Lynch (@theloganlynch) pinned Air Wolf (@officialairwolf).

Also new this year to the IPW HOF show was the Hall of Fame Classic tournament. This was an 8 man tournament with the 4 first round matches taking place during the afternoon show. In the first tournament match Curt Stallion (@CurtStallion) defeated Myron Reed (@TheBadReed).

ACH beat Penta El Om (@PENTAELZEROM)in a first round match.

Chuck Taylor (@SexyChuckieT) defeated AJ Smooth (@AJSmoothGJP) in a first round match.

Shane Strickland (@StricklandShane) beat Shelton Benjamin (@Sheltyb803) by count out in the last first round match. This was the main event of the afternoon show.

Chuck Taylor pinned Curt Stallion to advance to the finals of the Hall of Fame Classic.

Shane Strickland defeated ACH to advance to the finals.

Next up was the 8th annual Lou Thesz Cup battle royal. This match featured many of the wrestlers from the evaluation matches.

Tyler Jones won the Lou Thesz Cup battle royal.

James Jeffries (@TheRealJDouble)defeated Tony Sly.

This was Tony Sly's last match.

IPW womans champion Miss Frankie Jay defeated Sierra Avery, Brooke Valintine and Kiandra in a 4 way match to retain the title.

The IPW tag team champions Matty Star & Sparrow won a 4 team match to retain the titles.

After intermission WWE superstar Chad Gable came to the ring and brought out Dan Gable.

IPW champion Ryan Slade defeated Nicky Free to retain the title.

Chuck Taylor pinned Shane Strickland to win the Hall of Fame Classic. At the time of this match Strickland was a champion in 3 promotions (CZW, WrestleCircus and Defy) and Taylor was the PWG champion. Their titles were not on the line during this tournament.

Ray Feuring defeated Malice.

Myron Reed, B. Brian Blair (@Killerbee1B) & Wes Brisco defeated AJ Smooth, Justin Decent & Aaron Von Barron.

Tickets are on sale now for next years event July 26-28, 2018. This is a great event for pro wrestling fans. Legends and current stars at this years event included Baron Von Raschke, Stan Hansen, Magnum T.A., Paul Orndorff, Jim Brunzell, Jason Jordan and Sabu.